Assigning User Permissions

If you have an Administrator account, you have unlimited permissions and can assign and change permissions for Normal user accounts. When a Normal user account is assigned permissions to a functionality, that user has permissions for that specific functionality in his home location and any associated sub-locations. A user must have permissions for a location in order to view or edit the profiles, devices, or groups associated with the location.

Permissions can be assigned when a user is created, or from a specific location, profile, or mobile device group. This section describes the permissions available from the User Management page. For information on giving permissions to a user for a specific location, profile, or mobile device group, see Assigning Authorized Users.

The following table describes permissions that are available for profiles:

Management Applications

View Only allows the user to view the settings for a profile.

View/Edit allows the user to edit the settings of a profile.

Print allows the user to print the barcodes for a Scan to Config profile.

View/Only allows the user to view where profiles are applied.

View/Edit allows the user to edit where profiles are applied.

Note:   A user assigned to a location who has read/write permissions for profiles can exclude an inherited profile but will not be able to modify it.

The following table describes permissions that are available for inventory:

Inventory

Mobile Devices

View Only allows the user to view the mobile devices for assigned locations.

View/ Manage allows the user to manage the mobile devices for assigned locations or mobile device groups.

Mobile Device Groups

View Only allows the user to view the mobile device groups and the devices they contain.

View/Edit allows the user to edit group properties for mobile device groups. A user must also have Mobile Devices permissions in order to view/edit the devices in a group.

Mobile Device Properties

View Only allows the user to view mobile device properties.

View/Edit allows the user to edit properties for mobile devices.

Remote Control

View Only allows the user to connect to a mobile device using Remote Control.

View/Edit allows the user to connect to a device using Remote Control or configure Remote Control connection profiles.

The following table describes the other permissions that are available:

Other

Location Management

View Only allows the user to view location configurations and settings.

View/Edit allows the user to view, manage, and configure locations.

Synchronization

View Only allows the user to view recent and scheduled synchronizations.

View/Edit allows the user to create and deploy infrastructure or server packages, and initiate server synchronization.

 

© 2012 Wavelink Corporation. All Rights Reserved.