Wiping a Mobile Device

The Wipe action allows an administrator to remove files from a remote device from the Avalanche Console. A device wipe may perform differently depending on the OS type of the device.

Android, iOS, or Windows Phone 8 Devices

When you perform a wipe action for an Android, iOS, or Windows Phone 8 device, you have three options:

Selective wipe Removes all the data associated with the Avalanche payloads from the device. For example, a selective wipe would remove app restrictions or WiFi passwords.
Selective wipe + delete Removes the data associated with the Avalanche payloads and also deletes the device from the Avalanche inventory. For Windows Phone 8.1 and Windows Embedded Handheld 8.1 devices, users receive a prompt that the security policy has been removed and they are no longer required to have a password to unlock the device.
Factory reset Removes all personal files and applications from the device and restores the device to its factory settings. This option does remove an Enabler from the device, but it does not remove the device from the Avalanche inventory.

You must have an Apple ID (iOS) or Google account (Android) associated with the phone in order to perform a device wipe for a Smart device. Windows Phone 8 devices do not have any account requirements for wiping.

You do not need to have a Google account associated with an Android device if the device has an ANS Enabler.

AIDC Devices

When you have applied an AIDC mobile device profile that has Device Wipe folders configured, you can perform a remote wipe of the device. A remote wipe will delete the contents of the folders and reboot the device. If files in the folders were unable to be deleted because they were in use, the Enabler will attempt to delete them after the reboot. If the server is unable to contact the device using a TCP/IP connection, it will attempt to send the wipe command using SMS.

If there is more than one AIDC mobile device profile applied on the device, all of the Device Wipe folders for all of the applied profiles will be deleted during a device wipe. For information on configuring Device Wipe folders, see Configuring Device Wipe Folders.

Avalanche does not provide a method for restoring any of the information in the deleted folders.

To perform a remote device wipe:

1  From the Inventory tab, click the name of the device you want to wipe.

2  The Device Details page appears. In the Tools panel, click Wipe.

3  If the device is an AIDC device, a dialog box asks you to confirm the wipe action. When you confirm the wipe action, all files in the Device Wipe folders are deleted.

-Or-

If the device is a Smart device, the Wipe Device dialog box appears. Select the type of wipe you want to perform and click Wipe Now.

If the device is an Android device, the selective wipe does not remove the Avalanche Enabler from the device. For information on removing the Enabler from the device, see Removing Avalanche from a Device.

 


Was this article useful?    

The topic was:

Inaccurate

Incomplete

Not what I expected

Other

© 2016 Wavelink Corporation. All Rights Reserved.